We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Potting Shed Murder

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9780349703763

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 4th April 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Miss Marple for the 21st Century. Loved it. A must-read’ S.J. Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot

Welcome to the sleepy village of Pudding Corner, a quintessentially English haven of golden cornfields, winding cobbled lanes … and murder.


Daphne Brewster has left London behind and is settling into her family’s new life in rural Norfolk, planting broad beans in raised beds and vintage hunting for their farmhouse.

But when the local headmaster is found dead in his potting shed, amongst his allotment cabbages, the village is ablaze: Who would kill beloved Mr Papplewick, pillar of the community? Daphne soon comes to realise perhaps the countryside isn’t so idyllic after all…

When the headmaster’s widow points her finger at Minnerva, Daphne’s new friend, Daphne vows to clear her name. Sneaking into the crime scene and chasing down rumours gets her into hot water with the local inspector – until she comes across a faded photograph that unearths a secret buried for forty years…

They say nothing bad ever happens in close-knit Pudding Corner, but Daphne is close to the truth – dangerously close…

There’s death amongst the dahlias… A truly unputdownable whodunnit by Paula Sutton – otherwise known as Instagram’s happiest influencer: Hill House Vintage, the queen of cottagecore – an unforgettable new voice in cosy crime. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Janice Hallett and Richard Coles.

‘Blooming fabulous! The perfect book to get lost in . . . The cosiest of cosy crime’ Veronica Henry

‘A village of secrets, a cast of zany characters: this is a romp of a read that warms the heart’ Orlando Murrin, author of Knife Skills for Beginners

‘A really fun, fast-paced and atmospheric whodunnit. Perfect for fans of Agatha Raisin’ Jessica Bull, author of Miss Austen Investigates

‘Begs to be read in the cosiest of spaces’ Tasha Coryell, author of Love Letters to a Serial Killer

‘A great modern cosy’ Ian Moore, author of Death and Croissants

Delightful . . . Charming and fresh’ Kuchenga Shenjé, author of The Library Thief

‘I absolutely loved it! Utterly absorbing. Daphne is such a brilliant protagonist, I couldn’t help but love her. And that twist!’ Lisa Hall, author of The Mysterious Double Death of Honey Black

‘The most wholesome whodunit I’ve ever read . . . I loved it!’ Stephanie Yeboah

‘Such a fun cosy crime mystery with a really exciting ending! I hope that we’re going to see Daphne solving more crimes in the future!’ Kate Weston, author of You May Now Kill the Bride

‘A quintessentially English murder mystery. Paula Sutton brings a new voice to the cosy genre with her fresh take and witty twist on modern village life. Vintage crime!’ Jo Furniss, author of Dead Mile

‘An utterly delightful whodunnit unfolds in this pitch-perfect cosy mystery. Absolutely glorious!’
Victoria Dowd, author of The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder

‘Beautiful, mesmerising and immensely satisfying, The Potting Shed Murder shows us how even the most idyllic places can hide secrets. Rich in detail and bursting with warmth, I read this book well into the night, finding myself unable to put it down. Sutton is a master storyteller’ Awais Khan, author of No Honour and Someone Like Her

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Miss Marple for the 21st Century. Loved it
S.J. Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot
A great modern cosy
Ian Moore, author of Death and Croissants
Begs to be read in the cosiest of spaces
Tasha Coryell, author of Love Letters to a Serial Killer
Delightful ... Charming and fresh
Kuchenga Shenjé, author of The Library Thief
The perfect book to get lost in... The cosiest of cosy crime. Blooming fabulous!'
Veronica Henry
The most wholesome whodunit I've ever read. Such a great murder mystery with a twee, kitsch twist. I loved it!
Stephanie Yeboah
Such a fun cosy crime mystery with a really exciting ending! I hope that we're going to see Daphne solving more crimes in the future!
Kate Weston, author of You May Now Kill the Bride
A quintessentially English murder mystery. Paula Sutton brings a new voice to the cosy genre with her fresh take and witty twist on modern village life. Vintage crime!
Jo Furniss, author of Dead Mile
An utterly delightful whodunnit unfolds in this pitch-perfect cosy mystery. Absolutely glorious!
Victoria Dowd, author of The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder
A village of secrets, a cast of zany characters: this is a romp of a read that warms the heart
Orlando Murrin, author of Knife Skills for Beginners
A really fun, fast-paced and atmospheric whodunnit. Perfect for fans of Agatha Raisin
Jessica Bull, author of Miss Austen Investigates
Beautiful, mesmerising and immensely satisfying, The Potting Shed Murder shows us how even the most idyllic places can hide secrets. Rich in detail and bursting with warmth, I read this book well into the night, finding myself unable to put it down. Sutton is a master storyteller
Awais Khan, author of No Honour and Someone Like Her
I absolutely loved it! Utterly absorbing. Daphne is such a brilliant protagonist, I couldn't help but love her. And that twist!
Lisa Hall, author of The Mysterious Double Death of Honey Black