We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Alter Ego

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9780349130637

Price: £24.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘I adored Alter Ego. A book that can truly make you both laugh and cry. Written with such honesty and warmth, it’s powerful, joyful, heartbreaking and so funny all at once. A brilliant debut’ SARA NISHA ADAMS, author of The Reading List

‘Every now and then a book comes along that changes the way you see the world, and this is one of them… Uplifting and angry, hilarious and heartbreaking. I absolutely adored it’
FREYA SAMPSON, author of The Last Library

Six months ago, something happened that changed everything for Hattie. The next morning, she came up with The Plan. It was time for a whole new life. That’s how Hattie ends up in a little cabin in the middle of nowhere, where the woodland stretches for miles and stars light up the night sky. Here, Hattie can be whoever she wants to be.

At two years old, Hattie was diagnosed with a condition that would alter the course of her life. Ever since then she’s had to constantly explain herself and pretend that the pitying looks don’t bother her.

If she wants The Plan to work, nobody back home can know why she really left, and nobody in her new life can know the truth about her.

But it’s not long before she’s caught in her lies – trapped between who she really is, and who she so desperately wants to be. When everything falls apart, can she piece herself back together?

If you’ve ever felt a little lost, wanted to hide, or struggled to accept yourself, you will see yourself in the pages of this book. Perfect for fans of Kirsty Capes and Daisy Buchanan, this unputdownable, hilarious and achingly relatable page-turner will break your heart, mend it anew and leave you with a smile on your face.

‘An uncompromising, sharp and funny novel that took me from laughter to heart-aching tenderness… A fresh voice on the contemporary scene full of sharp insight and deeply funny bones’ Abigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita

‘Filled with heart and depth, this joyous book will stay with me for a very long time!’ Tess Amy, author of The Confidence Games

‘Sharp, witty and raw . . . This is a book everyone should pick off the shelves’ Rebecca Netley, author of The Whistling

Reviews

Every now and then a book comes along that changes the way you see the world, and this is one of them. Uplifting and angry, hilarious and heartbreaking, it's a story about toxic friendship, self-acceptance and the challenges of finding one's place in the world. I absolutely adored it
Freya Sampson, author of The Last Library
Alter Ego is the book I never knew I needed. Filled with heart and depth, this joyous book will stay with me for a very long time!
Tess Amy, author of The Confidence Games
Sharp, witty and raw, Heckety's novel exploring a young woman's experience of living with a hidden disability makes a compulsive and ultimately uplifting read. This is a book everyone should pick off the shelves
Rebecca Netley, author of The Whistling
I adored Alter Ego. A book that can truly make you both laugh and cry. Written with such honesty and warmth, it's powerful, joyful, heartbreaking and so funny all at once. A brilliant debut
Sara Nisha Adams, author of The Reading List
An uncompromising, sharp and funny novel that took me from laughter to heart-aching tenderness... A fresh voice on the contemporary scene full of sharp insight and deeply funny bones
Abigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita