We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Winter Animals

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9780349703299

Price: £18.99

ON SALE: 1st February 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Excellent . . . Ashani Lewis is superbly talented.’ Katherine Rundell

‘Thoughtful, intelligent and beautifully written . . . Lewis is definitely a new talent to watch.’ Marie Claire, “Best Books of 2024”

Be one of the first to discover this award-winning writer’s decadent and addictive debut, a must-read for fans of The Secret History and The Guest

In one of America’s Happiest Cities, thirty-eight-year-old Elen is trapped under the shadow of the snow-capped Cascade Mountains. Her husband has left her. Her belongings are in the boot of her car. Her days are filled mostly with silence and drinking. When she meets four English teenagers in an empty bar, she is enamoured.

Luka, Clover, George and Lyn are wealthy squatters, drifting between ski resorts and breaking into empty AirBnBs. When they bring Elen into their fold – and into their messy, entangled relationships – she senses a violent secret that fuels the four’s never-ending disappearing act.

Dazzling, cultish, and intensely committed to creating their own utopia, they force Elen to ruminate on the irresistible pull of bright young things.

She doesn’t understand what they want from her, but how can she leave when she has nowhere else to go?

A dark meditation on the dangers and seductive power of youthful idealism, and the slippages between friendship and love, Winter Animals is an extraordinary debut examining freedom, friendship, desire and excess.

A dreamlike, piercing examination of privilege, youth and freedom.‘ Cecile Pin, author of Wandering Souls

Atmospheric as hell, beautiful, and delightfully intelligent . . . Think The Secret History written by Raven Leilani.’ Jenny Mustard, author of Okay Days

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A talented writer . . . Winter Animals is a dreamlike, piercing examination of privilege, youth and freedom.
Cecile Pin, author of WANDERING SOULS
Excellent . . . Ashani Lewis is superbly talented.
Katherine Rundell
A remarkable novel: atmospheric as hell, beautiful, and delightfully intelligent. Its unique sentences sparkle with energy. Think The Secret History written by Raven Leilani. I devoured it and am left wanting more, Ashani Lewis is a rare talent!
Jenny Mustard, author of OKAY DAYS
A glittering, dark-edged tale of snow, hedonism, passion, friendship and squatting that explores what happens when a group of rich kids attempt to live out their questionable utopian ideals. Exhilarating and fabulous, I raced through it.
Priscilla Morris, author of BLACK BUTTERFLIES
Beautiful writing
Financial Times, Best New Debuts
Thoughtful, intelligent and beautifully written . . . Lewis is definitely a new talent to watch.
"Best Books of 2024", Marie Claire
Compelling
The Irish Times
A debut full of ideas. I have the sense that this is the first of many new worlds.
Sophie Dickinson, Telegraph